Passing Time





Nine dark fiction stories that may just give you nightmares.

A man lives to regret Passing Time. A father will do anything to save his son in Expiration Date. An author finds out her worst nightmare is back in The Devil’s Song. A woman gets more than the claim fee when she takes out vampire insurance in Luna Black.

In Dining in Hell, the Death Valley Diner becomes the wrong place to stop.

A serial killer wants to add another file to his collection in The Vegas Screamer. In Eating Mr. Bone, an undertaker could meet an unfortunate end. A con man meets his first ghost in Land of the Free. And will truth finally be set free in The Letter?


eBook available from:




Find out the latest at Passing Time's Facebook Page.


What people are saying:

'If you like twisty, turny, spooky tales in nice digestible chunks of great storytelling, Ellie Garratt's PASSING TIME is the collection for you! Beautifully written, evoking great atmosphere, indelible characters, and weird - and sometimes downright creepy - stories to keep you engaged and a little bit chilled.'

-Mark Knight, author of Blood Family: Quest for the Vampire Key

'Eerie and twisted stories. Some were so gripping I was literally on the edge of the couch. You made my mind work, Ellie. Can’t wait to see more!'

-Amie McCracken

'Nine short stories of the strange and macabre! Well, Ms Garratt sure as heck got the sub-title right because some of these tales are stomach-churning in their brilliance. As a writer, I admire anyone who can engage with a short story. It is a very specific skill. You have to thrill and make a reader remember in a few short pages. That takes real talent. This collection oozes with talent...This collection of strange and macabre tales is going to stay with me. This is up there with great horror writers.'

-Donna Hosie, author of The Return to Camelot Trilogy

'I'm not usually the type to devour books in one sitting, but these brief and engaging tales kept me reading. The stories ranged from short to very short, but even in a few pages she set up an intriguing plot and characters. My favorite was Dining in Hell, so fascinating I could hardly blink until I was finished...The short dark tales reminded me a lot of the Twilight Zone or Stephen King shorts. Definitely worth the read.'

-Sharon Bayliss, author of The Charge.

'From the awesome cover to the beautiful interior...to the gorgeous writing, this collection delivers. Elegant, tight prose, strange and macabre ideas to chew on, and twists I didn't see coming. Since they are short stories, I was able to read them in my limited free time and be transported away to strange places and odd people. Great book, highly recommended for a nice escape from reality.'

-Marian N. Spencer

'Fans of Poe, Lovecraft, and King will love this dark smorgasbord of beautifully crafted tales, while readers who prefer lighter fare will delight in the wonderful prose and fine storytelling. Just remember, these are not tales to lull you to sleep…unless you enjoy checking under the bed before you turn in.'

-V.R. Barkowski, award winning author.

'I just finished the first three stories of your book. I usually don't read this genre, but this is just ... WOW. From now on I am definitely looking forward to all the other books or stories you plan on publishing!' 

-Stephanie Beerden.

2 comments:

  1. Shoot; I keep looking for this to purchase and forget its not available yet. Dang. I have a gift card burning up my e-mail. I see the cover and keep thinking "CLockwork Orange" and "Odd Hours". I hope you consider that a compliment.

    .......dhole

    ReplyDelete

I love comments. They make my day!